Wallowa Lake Lodge -
The Wallowa Lake Lodge was built in 1923 when the south end of Wallowa Lake was developing into a resort area. An 18 passenger boat carried visitors four miles up the lake to an amusement park which offered a restaurant, store, bowling alley, dance hall, outdoor movie theater, horse drawn carousel and cabins for overnight guests. The amusement park closed in 1940 when snow crushed most of its buildings - the historic Lodge survived the harsh winter. The Lodge remained open only during the summer season until 1988. Restoration began in 1988, and work continues on transforming the lodge into a cozy retreat from the pressures of modern society. The 22 rooms are furnished with antiques, oriental rugs and colorful period prints. Rooms on the north side of the Lodge have views of the lake through the massive Ponderosa pines. There are also eight cabins closer to the lake shore.