This place is on private property. Listing for informational purposes only. Please do not visit without express permission from the land owner.
A 1860s mining supply center on SH 218, about 80 miles south of The Dalles. By the 1870s it had grown to where it added a post office, but in 1898 a fire wiped out most of the town, leaving only one original building still standing. The town rebuilt, but Shaniko's growth sucked away the people and Antelope faded. In the 1970s the town site was absorbed by a commune and renamed Rajneesh. The commune has also left, and only a handful of people remain in the town that once again bears the name Antelope.
Source: Ghost Town USA
Read more at Travel Oregon